Australia and South Dakota – new Pen Friends

Beverley Hall,
Elizabeth Bay Crescent,
Elizabeth Bay N.S.W.
Aug. 7, 1963

Dear Elena,
In reading the Christian Science Monitor, I saw you letter in the Mail Bag, and decided that I might like to write to someone in the U.S. of my own age. I am a 13 year old Australian girl who is 5’2”, has brown hair, blue eues & has not weighed herself for ages but is about 90lbs.
Like you, I am in my 2nd year of high school (I hope I am right in assuming that you are) and like school (believe it or not) – do you?
I was born on May 1, 1950 in Brisbane Aust., but moved to Sydney some 3 years later. However we went back (to Brisbane) a year later, but owing to business reasons only stayed a year & have been in Sydney ever since.
I went to a state school in 1956 & in 1957 went to S.C.C. G. G.S. (Sydney Church of England Girls Grammar School). & haveremained there since. It is known as a Church school like so many here in Sydney & all over Australia. Elizabeth Bay is a suburb of Sydney which as you can see is on the water front.
Enough about me! How old are you & where abouts do you live (if you get what I mean) etc. etc. Well, if you can tell me all about yourself & environment I shall be most satisfied.
I suupose I written enough & had better let up to let you have a chance to say something. Okay. Hope to hear from you soon.

Yours Truly
Linda Stephens
P.O. Please send a photo Linda.

 

Aug 14, 1963
Twin Brooks, So. Dak.

Dear Elena,
I got your name out of the Christian Science Monitor
I live on a small farm.  We raise cow, chickens, pigs. We have four dogs three cats. I like dogs, cats and horses. I have a calf of my own. I have a pen pay in California. The color of my hair is light brown my eyes are light brown.
I took piano lesions for six months I like some sports. I like bike hikes. I take it you live in a town or city.
I like to sew clothes I blong to two 4-H Clubs I am 12 years old. I have a brother 16 teen His name is David.
Hope to hear from you soon.
Love
Jean
P.S.   I like cooking too.

 

2505 -27 St.
Vernon, B.C.
Aug. 10

Dear Elena,
I am fourteen years old and would very much like to correspond with you.
My interests are very similar to your. I love music. Listening to popular records, dancing of all kinds, singing, and the high school band.
I baby-sit and adore little kids and babies.
I like “Hollywood” stuff. My favorite actor is Richard chamberlain (Dr. Kildare), actress: Hayley Mills. Who are yours?
I love writing letters and collect almost anything. E.g. – stamps, picture postcards, serviettes, etc.
I will be in grade 9 this fall and attend Vernon Secondary School. It is about a mile from my place.
I have light brown hair, blue eyes; am 5’31/2” tall and weigh 102 lbs.
I like travelling, too. I have been to Alberta, Washington, Oregon, California, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, Colorado, and Idaho.
I also love animals. I have a dog – white toy Pomeranian, and a car – tabby. Dog – 41/2 lbs., cat- 12 lbs! Do you have pets?
My favorite subjects at school are: band, art, English, & French. I detest Math. & Health!
Please tell me all about you. I would like to become good friends with you, through our letters.
Yours sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                           Joy Hopkins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s